Sunday, November 30, 2008

Mark Farina-Mushroom Jazz (2006)

Artist: Mark Farina
Title: Mushroom Jazz Vol. 06
Released: October 2008
Format: Unmixed Audio CD 224 kbps / 44,1kHz
Label: OM Records
Genre: Trip Hop, Future Jazz


Unmixed album!
The series is back and the wait is finally over! Get those neck braces out! Om is proud to present Mark Farina's highly anticipated "Mushroom Jazz 6."

To the un-initiated, Mark Farina is the master of the blend. The new album features new and unreleased material from the finest in Mushroom Jazz music (funky instrumental hip hop, downtempo, soul and blunted beats mixed together to perfection by Mark Farina himself), and on this sixth edition of this legendary series he includes a bumpin' brand new Farina original track entitled "Life".

A true phenomenon, "Mushroom Jazz Vol. 06" will have new and old school fans alike rushing to retail and digital locations. Get ready!!!

01. The Jazzual Suspects - This Beat
02. Smooth Current - Fools Competition
03. Ta'Raach - Baaaby
04. Kero One - Groovin'
05. Jamal - Jamal 141
06. Colossus - Dopebeatz
07. Brawdcast - Calm Down (Instrumental)
08. J-Boogie's Dubtronic Science - Alive (Instrumental)
09. Gagle - Scene #2 (Instrumental)
10. Uneaq - Just Checkin' (J's Stripped Down Instrumental)
11. Colossus feat. G-off & The Whooligan - The What?
12. Rubberoom - Bodysnatchin' (On the Isle)
13. Flash - Wasn't Really Worth My Time
14. Mark Farina - Life
15. The Jazzual Suspects - Ba Dada
16. Super Smoky Soul - Untitled 005
17. Choice37 - Way Back When
18. Colossus - Transit
19. J-Boogie's Dubtronic Science - Day at the Beach
20. Dave Allison - Reflections


Pat Methany-Day Trip (2008)

1. Son of Thirteen
2. At Last Youre Here
3. Lets Move
4. Snova
5. Calvins Keys
6. Is this America? (Katrina 2005)
7. When We Were Free
8. Dreaming Trees
9. The Red One
10. Day Trip

download (rapidshare)

Friday, November 21, 2008

Classic Funk and Disco tunes sampled by Daft Punk.

Classic Funk and Disco tunes sampled by Daft Punk.
01. Breakwater - Release The Beast (Robot Rock)
02. George Duke - I Love You More (Digital Love)
03. Edwin Birdsong - Cola Bottle Baby (Harder, Better, Faster, Stronger)
04. Cerrone - Supernature (Verdis Quo)
05. Tata Vega - Get It Up For Love (Da Funk)
06. Karen Young - Hot Shot (Indo Silver Club)
07. Chaka Khan - Fate (Music Sounds Better With You by Stardust)
08. Sister Sledge - Il Macquillage Lady (Aerodynamic)
09. Oliver Cheatham - Get Down Saturday Night (Voyager)
10. Eddie Johns - I Put A Spell On You (One More Time)
11. Little Anthony & The Imperials - Can You Imagine (Crescendolls)
12. Jerry Goldsmith - The Rec Room (Around The World)

Download Daft Samples (RAPIDSHARE)

Tuesday, November 11, 2008

Guru-The Best of Guru's Jazzmatazz (2008)

01. No Time To Play feat. Ronnie Jordan & Dee C. Lee
02. Trust Me feat. N'Dea Davenport
03. Slicker Than Most feat. Gary Barnacle
04. Down The Backstreets feat. Lonnie Liston Smith
05. Sights In The City feat. Courtney Pine & Carleen Anderson
06. Loungin' feat. Donald Byrd
07. Respect The Architect feat. Ramsey Lewis & Bahamadia
08. Watch What You Say feat. Chaka Khan & Branford Marslis
09. Lost Souls feat. Jamiroquai
10. Choice Of Weapons feat. Dee C. Lee, Gus Da Vigilante, Courntey Pine
11. Looking Through Darkness feat. Mica Paris
12. Keep Your Worries feat. Angie Stone
13. Supa Love feat. Kelis
14. Lift Your Fist feat. The Roots
15. Plenty feat. Erykah Badu
16. Choices feat. N'Dea Davenport & Bobbi Humphrey
17. Loungin' (Jazz Not Jazz Mix)
18. Respect The Architect feat. Ramsey Lewis & Bahamadia (Buckwild Remix)

Download Guru

Saturday, November 1, 2008

Matthew Herbert-There’s Me and There’s You (2008)


Matthew Herbert’s dazzling new album, There’s Me and There’s You will be released October 28, 2008 on !K7. There’s Me and There’s You is the most seductive, sophisticated and subversive collection of protest songs ever recorded. Blending lush jazz instrumentation, soulful vocals, fascinating rhythms and a secret underground arsenal of outlandish samples, as well as featuring the cream of British jazz musicians, There’s Me and There’s You marks Herbert’s second collaboration with his big band and is a sequel of sorts to his 2001 project Goodbye Swingtime.

An electronic innovator, sonic explorer and prolific collaborator, Herbert has released a huge catalogue of critically acclaimed music under his own name as well as Doctor Rockit, Wishmountain, Radio Boy and others. He has also produced and remixed artists as diverse as Bjrk, REM, Quincy Jones, John Cale, Yoko Ono, Dizzee Racal and Roisin Murphy, as well as working with highly regarded original thinkers such as the chef Heston Blumenthal and playwright Caryl Churchill. However, There’s Me and There’s You marks a new chapter in his career as it is Herbert’s debut recording with revered and versatile London-based artist Eska whose vast array of past collaborators includes David Sylvian, Lewis Taylor, Anthony Tidd and Afrobeat legend Tony Allen.

Herbert’s albums always closely interweave medium with message, surface beauty with political subtext. Effortlessly wrapping deluxe avant-jazz arrangements around polemical lyrics and artfully selected noises, this album’s dominant theme is power and it’s abuses in the 21st century. Recurring motifs include the war in Iraq, the power of monarchy, religion, media, wealth inequalities, state-sponsored torture, the hypocrisy of climate change politics and the evils of rampant consumerism.

For example, the album contains a memorial to the victims of the Iraq war in “One Life,” which samples the incubator system which kept Herbert’s prematurely born son alive. Each beep represents 100 people killed in Iraq, from the start of the war in 2003 to October 2006. The disturbingly beautiful collage track “Nonsound” is made of ambient recordings from Palestine, including the sound of protestors being shot against the wall that divides the territories. He wanted to record both the favourite and most hated sounds of ordinary Palestinians, and this is what was sent back.

Additional samples include the sound of 70 condoms being scraped along the floor of the British Museum, a match being struck in the Houses of Parliament, one of a 100 nails being hammered into a coffin, vocals recorded at a Kent landfill site, a Kensington branch of McDonalds, a “stop and search” document issued under the Prevention of Terrorism act, 100 credit cards being cut up and 70 people blowing over water bottles, shaking US election badges and squirting bottles of Britney Spears’ “Curious” perfume in the grand entrance hall of the British Museum. This is an album, in many senses, of extraordinary renditions.

There’s Me and There’s You is full of playful melodies and deceptively joyous music paired with dark and angry themes. Throughout, Herbert’s message is deadly serious, but ultimately a hugely optimistic statement of people power. In the months ahead, Herbert plans to tour the album with an 18-piece orchestra, taking his Trojan Horse of sophisticated subversion directly to the people. This is democracy in action, a musical resistance movement, speaking truth to power in defiantly hopeful ways.

01 The Story
02 Pontificate
03 Waiting
04 The Yesness
05 Battery
06 Regina
07 The Rich Man’s Prayer
08 Breathe
09 Knowing
10 Nonsound
11 One Life
12 Just Swing

DOWNLOAD (Rapidshare)